So I am just 4 weeks away from getting on a plane to La Paz, Bolivia where I will be shadowing physicians and getting an up close and personal view of how medicine in practiced in an impoverished country. My plane takes off February 1st at 7:00 pm and it is going to get here in a hurry. Then it is off to a new land, a new family, and a new language. It is quite intimidating now that I think about it. Also, I have  never really had much clinical experience so it I am looking at this trip as entering a new profession and a new chapter of my life, devoted to medicine. I start medical school in July at UNM school of medicine so I have very little knowledge of the practice of medicine outside of some biochem, chemistry, and anatomy courses I have taken along path to med school. Through this blog and these experiences I want to keep a record of how a person goes from being a kid fresh out of undergrad to a practicing doctor that people rely on. And so it begins…

